jump to navigation

Too Much Television! July 4, 2012

Posted by karinshah in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I get great pleasure from television (though I watch things either DVRed or on my computer for the most part.)

I’m an addict really, so I started wondering a while ago, what is it about a show that makes it really click for me?

Some of my favorite shows are: Supernatural– two brothers fight monsters as they cross the country in their 1967 Chevy Impala, Psych– A man and his best friend pretend to be a Psychic detective agency and solve crimes, Burn Notice– A burned spy and his friends help people while probing the mystery of his “burning.”

I have a lot of other favorites, but as I wrote out these top three, I realized, what I really like is the tight bond all of the characters show with each other–how they work together.

They’re light shows. They have emotional moments, but for the most part, episodes end well with the danger at least temporarily dealt with.

There is humor and adventure in all of them.

And there is a set of moral lines that the characters color inside, even though some of the time, they find themselves on the other side of the law.

But the main reason I watch is for the characters themselves. A character I can get behind gets me every time.

How about you? What shows do you like and what draws you to them?

Karin

Comments»

1. Sandy WIckersham-McWhorter - July 4, 2012

So many favorite TV shows I couldn’t begin to list them. Old sci-fi series are the best, of course, and old spy shows from the 60s. What makes them good? No bad language, a real plot, a fantasy I can put myself in and live vicariously through, Nowadays, we like Eureka, Warehouse 13, Sanctuary, American Idol, So You Think You Can Dance, and such.

2. karinshah - July 4, 2012

Hi Sandy,

You’ve listed a lot of my favorites, too! I’m bummed SYTYCD isn’t on tonight.(pout)

Thanks for stopping by!

Karin

3. jannashay - July 5, 2012

Sorry to be commenting late, but life has been crazy lately. We watch Hawaii 5-0, Castle, and Burn Notice, to name a few. I watch them for the same reasons as you do, because of the combination of adventure and humor and because they end well.

karinshah - July 5, 2012

Thanks for stopping by Janna! Everyone talks about Castle and I’m sure I would like it, but I hate to start show “mid-stream.” I hope it’ll show up on Netflix sometime soon. 🙂

Karin


Leave a Reply

Young Adult Book Reviews

Book reviews written by a high school librarian.

Books and More

Books, Tips, and Recipes

A Writer's Haven

An author's refuge

Happy Tails and Tales Blog

Just Another Opinionated Crazy Lady Who Loves Books And Animals!! :)

VIOLETTA RAND: A Splash of Romance

4 out of 5 women recommend romance once a day...

Larynn Ford

Forever's Not Just a Dream

Supernatural Superlatives

Authors of the Paranormal

Druid Star

Journalism

Janna Shay

JANNA SHAY

ALL THINGS ROMANCE

LYNN A REYNOLDS. This site is for those readers 18 years old +.

Love Romance Passion

Because books don't fall asleep afterward.

Tara Quan

Globetrotter & Author. Sci-fi, Fantasy & Contemporary Romance with a Pinch of Spice and a Smidgen of Kink

JessicaAspenWrites

Fast-paced fantasy romance with fairy tale happily ever afters.

The BookChick

Book Reviews and Promotion

Bookswagger

" you know how many hot books I own"

Happy Indulgence

Book review blog from Australia featuring young adult reviews and discussions.

Love, Lust, and Laptops

A place to get your licks and bytes.

Young Adult Book Reviews

Book reviews written by a high school librarian.

Books and More

Books, Tips, and Recipes

A Writer's Haven

An author's refuge

Happy Tails and Tales Blog

Just Another Opinionated Crazy Lady Who Loves Books And Animals!! :)

VIOLETTA RAND: A Splash of Romance

4 out of 5 women recommend romance once a day...

Larynn Ford

Forever's Not Just a Dream

Supernatural Superlatives

Authors of the Paranormal

Druid Star

Journalism

Janna Shay

JANNA SHAY

ALL THINGS ROMANCE

LYNN A REYNOLDS. This site is for those readers 18 years old +.

Love Romance Passion

Because books don't fall asleep afterward.

Tara Quan

Globetrotter & Author. Sci-fi, Fantasy & Contemporary Romance with a Pinch of Spice and a Smidgen of Kink

JessicaAspenWrites

Fast-paced fantasy romance with fairy tale happily ever afters.

The BookChick

Book Reviews and Promotion

Bookswagger

" you know how many hot books I own"

Happy Indulgence

Book review blog from Australia featuring young adult reviews and discussions.

Love, Lust, and Laptops

A place to get your licks and bytes.

