jump to navigation

Do You Believe in Ghosts? October 27, 2014

Posted by karinshah in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback
Do you have a ghost story to share?

Do you have a ghost story to share?

Do You Believe in Ghosts?

With Halloween approaching there are all kinds of spooky shows on TV and I thought it would be fun to talk about ghosts.

I am a “Ghost Investigator show” fanatic. I’ve watched Ghost Adventures, Ghost Hunters, Ghost–well, put “Ghost” in the title and I watch it. I even watched Deep South Paranormal once, but they pulled over to the side of the road on the way to an investigation, pulled out a cooler of animals they had shot and fish they had caught,and proceeded to deep fry them. That wasn’t too bad, but apparently they were still hungry, so they tried frying up the earthworms they had brought as bait. That was my limit. Possible demons, yes. Eating worms, no.

Ghost Adventures is my favorite of these shows. I love Zak, Nick, and Aaron. Their excitement and personalities are as much a part of the show as the investigations. Once, part of the episode centered on them finding a stray dog a home. GA is just plain fun. Zak can be over the top melodramatic, “Welcome to Hell!” Nick is the calm foil and Aaron the wildly excitable one.

Despite the fact that I love these shows, I consider myself an open-minded skeptic. I enjoy coming up with my own explanations and de-bunking. Sometimes I can’t, but since I’m experiencing the unexplained through the filter of television, I sleep just fine.

Thanks to watching these shows, I know about EVP, EMF, and things like Spirit Boxes, (whether they’re SB7, SB11 or whatever 🙂 )

You can see my addiction in my latest release, ENTITY MINE when the heroine, Devon, a psychic medium, goes to her friend Beth’s house to investigate a possible haunting.

Excerpt:
“So what kind of things have you been experiencing?” Devon turned away from Beth and scanned her friend’s restored Victorian with a practiced eye.

A beautiful hanging staircase of varnished, dark wood graced the dramatic foyer. A formal parlor balanced a richly, paneled dining room on the other side. The house smelled of wood, floral polish, and peanut butter cookies.

Beth sucked her lower lip for a moment. “Dark shadows. Cold spots. Lights going on and off. Footsteps. And I’ve woken up several times to see a figure at the foot of the bed.” She stared at Devon, her face ripe with expectation.

“Optical illusions. Drafts. Faulty wiring. Loose pipes.” Devon ticked off on her fingers. “Rattling window panes and—”

“—and I know, I know. Ooh, ooh, call on me, professor.” Beth waved her arm wildly. “A hypnagogic state.”

 

Still, despite my interest, I’ve only experienced the unexplained personally once. When I was in high school, I was home alone after dark and the power went out. I got candles and sat in the family room, reading a book. Since it was hot, I had put the screen on the sliding glass door in the kitchen which adjoined the family room. A pony wall stopped me from being able to see the whole kitchen.

Suddenly, there was a loud long scraping sound in the kitchen, as if something big were being dragged along the floor.

I looked in, but saw nothing. Unnerved, I closed the sliding door, in case the sound had come from outside. Eventually, my pulse settled down and I went back to my book. That’s when it happened again. I was out of there!

I sat on the curb and waited for my family to come home. I never found out what made the sound and it never happened again.

How about you? Any ghost stories to share? Are you a fellow Ghost show aficionado?

Do you believe in ghosts?

Comments»

1. Sophia Kimble - October 27, 2014

I believe!!! No doubt and I am addicted to those shows. 🙂 Caught an EVP on my cell phone once…creeped me out. Your book sounds awesome.

karinshah - October 27, 2014

Neat! What did the EVP say, Sophia?

Sophia Kimble - October 27, 2014

It was a low moan/snort kind of thing…really scary.

2. Gatekeeper - October 28, 2014

No doubt ghosts are real. My question what they are? Demons, lost souls, echoes of the past?

3. paragirlproductions1 - December 23, 2014

I believe, I have personal paranormal experiences in my own home and I capture EVP’s at my local cemetery, I submit them to my blog along with pictures/videos/ ect xx

karinshah - December 23, 2014

Ooh, I think that would scary me! What kind of EVPs have you gotten?

paragirlproductions1 - December 24, 2014

Some saying “help me” others saying their names, laughter ect, I’ve posted some on my blog if you wanna hear xx


Leave a Reply

Young Adult Book Reviews

Book reviews written by a high school librarian.

Books and More

Books, Tips, and Recipes

A Writer's Haven

An author's refuge

Happy Tails and Tales Blog

Just Another Opinionated Crazy Lady Who Loves Books And Animals!! :)

VIOLETTA RAND: A Splash of Romance

4 out of 5 women recommend romance once a day...

Larynn Ford

Forever's Not Just a Dream

Supernatural Superlatives

Authors of the Paranormal

Druid Star

Journalism

Janna Shay

JANNA SHAY

ALL THINGS ROMANCE

LYNN A REYNOLDS. This site is for those readers 18 years old +.

Love Romance Passion

Because books don't fall asleep afterward.

Tara Quan

Globetrotter & Author. Sci-fi, Fantasy & Contemporary Romance with a Pinch of Spice and a Smidgen of Kink

JessicaAspenWrites

Fast-paced fantasy romance with fairy tale happily ever afters.

The BookChick

Book Reviews and Promotion

Bookswagger

" you know how many hot books I own"

Happy Indulgence

Book review blog from Australia featuring young adult reviews and discussions.

Love, Lust, and Laptops

A place to get your licks and bytes.

Young Adult Book Reviews

Book reviews written by a high school librarian.

Books and More

Books, Tips, and Recipes

A Writer's Haven

An author's refuge

Happy Tails and Tales Blog

Just Another Opinionated Crazy Lady Who Loves Books And Animals!! :)

VIOLETTA RAND: A Splash of Romance

4 out of 5 women recommend romance once a day...

Larynn Ford

Forever's Not Just a Dream

Supernatural Superlatives

Authors of the Paranormal

Druid Star

Journalism

Janna Shay

JANNA SHAY

ALL THINGS ROMANCE

LYNN A REYNOLDS. This site is for those readers 18 years old +.

Love Romance Passion

Because books don't fall asleep afterward.

Tara Quan

Globetrotter & Author. Sci-fi, Fantasy & Contemporary Romance with a Pinch of Spice and a Smidgen of Kink

JessicaAspenWrites

Fast-paced fantasy romance with fairy tale happily ever afters.

The BookChick

Book Reviews and Promotion

Bookswagger

" you know how many hot books I own"

Happy Indulgence

Book review blog from Australia featuring young adult reviews and discussions.

Love, Lust, and Laptops

A place to get your licks and bytes.

