jump to navigation

December 16, 2014

Posted by karinshah in Uncategorized.
trackback
Available now!

Available now!

Run/walk, Write/walk

I am a couch potato. Hell, I’m a bed potato. Given a choice my favorite thing to do is lie on my bed and read. The same goes for writing, though I usually sit. We writers even have an acronym for it, BICHOK (butt in chair hands on keyboard). It works great for producing words, but not so much for said butt!
Studies have shown that no matter how hard you exercise when you’re not sitting, you can’t undo the damage long hours of sitting can do. Humans are meant to move.
So, this last spring I got a treadmill desk.

I can’t afford that! you say? Neither can I. Those fancy desks are mucho dinero.
This is what I’ve done.

My treadmill in the basement . Regular.

My treadmill in the basement . Regular.

My Treadmill in the basement  "pimped" into a tread desk.

My Treadmill in the basement “pimped” into a tread desk.

My husband got me a wire shelf from Home Depot and Velcro ties. Fortunately, my treadmill has arms, so all I do is fasten it on, put my tablet and its Bluetooth keyboard on a cardboard box to make it higher, and start walking. I started slow and have built up to 2 mph, 2.5 if I’m up to it. Still, 1 mph would be fine. If you write for four hours at that speed, you will have walked four miles. It also makes it hard to stop and go do something (not impossible, but harder) so you stay more focused. Nothing makes you feel better at the end of the day, than having written ten pages and walked seven miles.

I built up to going that far. In the beginning I did shorter amounts, so I wouldn’t get footsore.

There are other alternatives, too if you don’t have a treadmill, balance balls, getting up with a timer every few minutes, and exercise bikes under the desk, as well!

Let’s birth a new acronym FOTHOK. Feet On Treadmill, Hands On Keyboard!

What are you doing to get moving?

Karin

Comments»

1. Sophia Kimble - December 16, 2014

Reblogged this on Sophia Kimble and commented:
This is such a great idea!!!!

2. Susan James Berger - December 16, 2014

You are the second writer I know who has done this. What a great idea,

karinshah - December 16, 2014

Thanks, Susan! It really helps get me moving!


Leave a Reply

Young Adult Book Reviews

Book reviews written by a high school librarian.

Books and More

Books, Tips, and Recipes

A Writer's Haven

An author's refuge

Happy Tails and Tales Blog

Just Another Opinionated Crazy Lady Who Loves Books And Animals!! :)

VIOLETTA RAND: A Splash of Romance

4 out of 5 women recommend romance once a day...

Larynn Ford

Forever's Not Just a Dream

Supernatural Superlatives

Authors of the Paranormal

Druid Star

Journalism

Janna Shay

JANNA SHAY

ALL THINGS ROMANCE

LYNN A REYNOLDS. This site is for those readers 18 years old +.

Love Romance Passion

Because books don't fall asleep afterward.

Tara Quan

Globetrotter & Author. Sci-fi, Fantasy & Contemporary Romance with a Pinch of Spice and a Smidgen of Kink

JessicaAspenWrites

Fast-paced fantasy romance with fairy tale happily ever afters.

The BookChick

Book Reviews and Promotion

Bookswagger

" you know how many hot books I own"

Happy Indulgence

Book review blog from Australia featuring young adult reviews and discussions.

Love, Lust, and Laptops

A place to get your licks and bytes.

Young Adult Book Reviews

Book reviews written by a high school librarian.

Books and More

Books, Tips, and Recipes

A Writer's Haven

An author's refuge

Happy Tails and Tales Blog

Just Another Opinionated Crazy Lady Who Loves Books And Animals!! :)

VIOLETTA RAND: A Splash of Romance

4 out of 5 women recommend romance once a day...

Larynn Ford

Forever's Not Just a Dream

Supernatural Superlatives

Authors of the Paranormal

Druid Star

Journalism

Janna Shay

JANNA SHAY

ALL THINGS ROMANCE

LYNN A REYNOLDS. This site is for those readers 18 years old +.

Love Romance Passion

Because books don't fall asleep afterward.

Tara Quan

Globetrotter & Author. Sci-fi, Fantasy & Contemporary Romance with a Pinch of Spice and a Smidgen of Kink

JessicaAspenWrites

Fast-paced fantasy romance with fairy tale happily ever afters.

The BookChick

Book Reviews and Promotion

Bookswagger

" you know how many hot books I own"

Happy Indulgence

Book review blog from Australia featuring young adult reviews and discussions.

Love, Lust, and Laptops

A place to get your licks and bytes.

