shakespeare“…therefore  is winged cupid painted blind.”  A Mid-Summer Night’s Dream (I,i,234)

with apologies to the readers and writers who are tired of beautiful heroines and handsome heroes.  I respectfully argue that Shakespeare had it right.

The quote above is spoke by Helena whose love, Demetrius, is in love with Hermia.

Though Helena says earlier to Hermia, ‘teach me how you look.” and wishes Hermia’s looks were contagious, implying Hermia is prettier, she also says, “Through Athens I am thought as fair as she.  But Demetrius thinks not so; He will not know what all but he do know.” (AMSND I,i, 227-228)

Shakespeare uses her monologue to give us Helena’s pov.  As a writer, I use third person, but I also want my reader to enter the skin of my characters, to feel what he or she is feeling, to see what he or she is seeing.

My heroes and heroines are stunningly attractive because they are seen through the lens of someone falling in love.

That’s my take.  What’s yours?